Why Do Critics Never Like My Favorite Movies?

I perused my dvd collection, last night, looking for a fun, mindless movie to play while doing other things not that much more important than not-watching a mindless movie as background noise. I honestly think the idea was have to something on in case someone  should call or IM me to ask what I was doing, and I could say “Oh, you know. I’m just watching Ocean’s Eleven for the godzillionth time, but not really.” That sounds much better and less lame than “Oh, nothing. Just waiting for my tea to steep, because I feel like going to bed at 10:30pm for the first time since… oh… since my parents made me, when I was 12.” Much better. And I like strong tea.

Scanning the scenery, my eyes were drawn to the drama section–dark or serious movies (Batman movies don’t count) that were nominated for awards, because the movies I really like are rarely as critically-acclaimed by “the Academy” as they are by real people who pay to see movies. They’re the movies you watch, because everyone says “Oh, you need see this movie! It’s so [something not very convincing, but persuasive enough to keep you from being That Guy who refuses to see ‘good’ movies].” 

And my thought was “When will I ever watch this, again?” What kind of mood do I need to be in to choose to rewatch Schindler’s List? Great movie, glad I saw it, and I bought it because it’s one of those movies I felt I needed among my plotless action movies, just so guests take me seriously when I say “Let me be serious for a minute…” Originally, I watched it out of curiosity. Now that I’ve seen it… I mean… I don’t see myself coming home from work or the gym, wanting to relax and thinking “How about throwing on that Holocaust movie?!” I suppose Life Is Beautiful and The Valkyrie are less sobering Holocaust movies one can watch almost anytime. I read that Steven Spielberg was depressed while filming Schindler’s List, so he cheered himself up with Seinfeld reruns. There’s an idea.

If you’re wondering–and you really shouldn’t be–I chose Inception, because already knowing the ending means I don’t actually have to watching it so attentively as the first time. That “dream within a dream within a dream thing” had me press pause to wrap my head around that like:

 “A dream within a… wait… within another dream. Ok, so they’re dreaming, then they have another dream… and then another? Ok, that makes sense… what? You know what, I’m just gonna carry around the Rolls-Royce Monopoly piece, and then ask someone about levels of consciousness.”

So, I feel bad, a little bit, having movies I’ve seen only once and will probably never seen, again. But I’m over it, for now. I watched my movie, walking into the bathroom, looked my reverse-self in the eye and said “I pardon you.”

M. 

Comments
2 Responses to “Why Do Critics Never Like My Favorite Movies?”
  1. gnetch says:

    If you want movies that don’t require you to think too much, watch romantic comedies. You’d know who will end up with whom just by looking at the DVD cover.

    Good idea?

  2. Don’t feel so bad. Critics are there to criticize…not to enjoy necessarily. They have to comment snidely, or we wouldn’t really consider them critics.

    So, just because you love “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days” and the “Sex & The City” movies (you’ve done the tour in NYC haven’t you???)…no one is judging you.

    Go ahead and curl up on the couch with a pint of chocolate peanut-butter ice cream and enjoy your films. ^_^

Leave a Reply

